(Re)Introducing the Blog: A Partridge on a Mission

Hello everyone,

Well its been over two years since I last updated this blog of mine. In fact its been over two years since I last looked at it myself (that’s what happens when one ends up in employment).  However, now I’m back. And I have a Mission. Well, kind of a mission anyway.

The Mission – Random Record a Day

Over the years I’ve collected, via various means, a not insubstantial amount of vinyl records – ranging from the 50s to the 00s. However, I’ve never even listened to at least 70% of them due to a combination of factors; wheat from the chaff issues, times pressures and (mainly) MP3 induced laziness. But now I’ve decided to go through them all – randomly – convert them to Mp3, upload and review them.

The random aspect is important – as without it I’d only listen to/encode ones that I think I’ll like. By randomly selecting, I won’t have that option. The downside to this is that there will be some utterly shite records appearing here. I know for a fact that I have a bunch of bad 80s 7″s I got at a market in the mid 90s, when I expected an 80s revival that never happened (I’d planned to sell them).

But hopefully, in my journey I’ll find some classics I never knew I had, some that are hilariously bad, and some that I’ll appreciate now that I never did before. Plus its the only way I’ll ever actually listen to them all, and in the process – with a bit of luck – I’ll learn something about the artists via the reviews.

Of course, while its called A Random Record A Day, that’s unrealistically aspirational – there’s no way I’ll be able to rip, upload and review a record every single day.  I simply won’t have time (work, so-called social life, etc). Then again, sometimes I’ll probably find myself going through several records per day. And I’ll no doubt use this  blog for other things as well, including posting links to things that are interesting me at that particular moment – and probably some of my own mixes and mixtapes from over the years.

Finally, I’ll try to upload at least one LP a week, and the rest will be EPs and singles (A and B sides). That’s the plan anyway.

I hope some of you will join me in this voyage of vinyl discovery – but if not, to be honest, I don’t really care as this is a personal project more than anything else. Still, I think there’ll be enough great tunes to keep at least one other person on board.

As a first offering, I present the following Fields – Fields (LP, 1969).

Barb Wire Love

Explore posts in the same categories: LP, mp3, music, random record a day, record a day, ripping records, vinyl

Leave a Reply

